The reality of a stones throw, in 33 words

crusheddreams_zps9d4519941.jpg

Casting stones at someone

means for once,

you can point a finger.

You get to not be judged

for doing or having done

the same thing.

But, being stoned

turns you into stone.

***

This is in response to the week 38 Trifecta challenge: 

trifecta button“..thirty-three word response using the word stone as one of your
thirty-three words.  You can use any
definition of the word
that you’d like, but we are specifically looking for
serious, well-conceived entries.”

16 thoughts on “The reality of a stones throw, in 33 words

  1. Draug419 says:

    Such true words. And never forget that you might in turn be stoned for doing the stoning!

  2. atrm61 says:

    I agree-it gives a kind of wicked pleasure to judge but not so when we are judged-human beings-we sure are strange!Great post:-)

  3. Those final two lines were particularly brilliant. Nicely done.

  4. Carolyn says:

    Thank you, and thank you for reading it. I’m still in the healing process from being “stoned” a couple of years ago. The whole world changes when you come out with a big secret, even when it’s done out of love.

  5. jannatwrites says:

    True. It can be so easy to be hypocritical and point out others’ flaws. In that moment, it does make us feel more perfect…but our time will inevitably come.

    • Carolyn says:

      Thank you for reading my response and for creating this challenge! I have gotten such pleasure from reading the other responses, and I am humbled and in awe to be a part of this community.

  6. Stones. Best left on the ground.

    • Carolyn says:

      wow. I think thats why I chose the picture that I snapped last December of the crushed flowers laying on the bed of gravel. It was taken just outside our doorstep. I remember the flowers were dying – they were very special to me, and I didn’t want to just throw them away, I wanted a memory. SO I decided to run over them with the wheel of the car, flatten them and make art 🙂 When I focused the picture on the stones and added light, I saw the expression of sadness. And you gave it the words that have been just out of reach… in my mind.

  7. Dayle Lynne says:

    Beautifully done, Carolyn!

    • Carolyn says:

      Thank you, Dayle. I sure do love getting back into writing challenges! It’s been years, way to long.

      • Dayle Lynne says:

        I’ve only recently started doing them and I’m really enjoying it 🙂 It’s reminding me of high school (which is the last time I wrote with the same passion I’ve been writing lately) 🙂

Leave a Reply

