One Soul’s Evolution

When

The

Words

finally break through the walls of fear, and turn on the powers of Love

that a lifetime in guilt, lies, and shame have hidden from you, then the

silence

becomes

music.

You’re

free

to let

Faith

Hope

and

Love

infect

your

soul.

This was written for the Trifecta Week Sixty-Nine writing challenge.

(rules below)

INFECT
1: to contaminate with a disease-producing substance or agent (as bacteria)
2a : to communicate a pathogen or a disease to
b : of a pathogenic organism : to invade (an individual or organ) usually by penetration
c : of a computer virus : to become transmitted and copied to (as a computer)
3a : contaminate, corrupt <the inflated writing that infects such stories>  
b : to work upon or seize upon so as to induce sympathy, belief, or support <trying to infect their salespeople with their enthusiasm>

Please remember:
  • Your response must be between 33 and 333 words.
  • You must use the 3rd definition of the given word in your post.
  • The word itself needs to be included in your response.
  • You may not use a variation of the word; it needs to be exactly as stated above.
  • Only one entry per writer.
  • If you know your post does not meet the requirements of the challenge, please leave your link in the comments section, not in the linkz.
  • Trifecta is open to everyone.  Please join us.
This week’s challenge is community-judged.
  • For the 12 hours following the close of the challenge, voting will be enabled on links.
  • In order to vote, return to this post where stars will appear next to each link.  To vote, simply click the star that corresponds with your favorite post.
  • You can vote for your top three favorite posts.
  • Voting is open to everyone. Encourage your friends to vote for you, if you wish, but please don’t tell them to vote on a number.  The numbering of the posts changes regularly, as authors have the ability to delete their own links at any time.
  • You have 12 hours to vote.  It’s not much time, so be diligent! We’ll send out reminders on Twitter and Facebook.

This week’s word is infect.

29 thoughts on “One Soul’s Evolution

  1. joetwo says:

    Very nice use of the prompt!

  2. Draug419 says:

    What a lovely piece.

  3. Tom MacInnes says:

    Fan-flippin’-tastic!!! I loved this from the very first word. Such an important message delivered in such an impressive fashion. If I was ever to get a poem tattooed over my heart, this might very well be the one. Great work! 🙂

    • Carolyn says:

      WOW!!! If you get this tattooed on your chest I wanna see it 😀 (My smile is way to big for a 😀 to express)! I don’t know what to say except, thank you, you’ve really touched my soul with that sentiment. ❤

  4. Strong message in a strong form

  5. Beautiful. I love the idea behind this. Well done.

  6. deanabo says:

    This is beautiful!

  7. Gina says:

    I love the formatting here. And the message of freedom to let all the good stuff in.

  8. jannatwrites says:

    I love the ending – infection has a negative connotation, however, in this instance, it’s an awesome thing – I’d love to have my soul infected with faith, hope and love!

    • Carolyn says:

      My relationship with God has been a very slow, and progressive “trust” issue. It took me a long time to get over Sunday School memorization, and just “make it personal.” I totally love the idea that someone who commented even ROCKED the notion of getting this poem tattoed on his chest over his heart! Thats about how off the wall I am, I could never fit in at a mainstream church 😀

  9. unevenstevencu says:

    yeah someitmes splinters can become an infection – nice use of words to make a cross

  10. Great use of the word. Thanks for linking up!

  11. I enjoyed this and the word formation is great i love the symbolism.

  12. rangewriter says:

    Eewww! I like this. It’s very creative.

    • Carolyn says:

      LOL thank you! I read you submitted post too, and LOVED it. I can’t wait to have 80 years of life experiences…some day, I’m going to talk somebodys ear off telling them. One of my grandmas best gifts to me was when she talked mine off telling me everything ❤

  13. habibadanyal says:

    Beautiful and true!

    • Carolyn says:

      🙂 It’s inspiring to know that this has touched people’s hearts. I’ve found myself coming out of years of anger and self hatred, in the last two years since my divorce. Music has been a tremendous source of healing for me. There came a moment not so long ago, that The Words clicked….the air around me doesn’t sting so bad, you know?

  14. Nicely illustrated message.

  15. Sini says:

    Reading this over and over again, I have come to view the picture of how God’s words do break the rage and despair and open the doors to healing,

Leave a Reply

