And on the 36th day, she rested.

And on the 29th day, she rested.

On February 15th of this year, the love of my life got very sick. It was some sort of stomach flu. It was going around at the time, hitting people pretty hard. Some people we knew had already had it for weeks and were still fighting it. I got it too, but my immune system is pretty strong, so I only had it for a day. Adam’s was really bad. He came out of it on March 16th. He should’ve gone to the hospital on many occasions, but he kept refusing because he has no health insurance. That being said, I had my work cut out for me. I guess it was a good thing that I was unemployed at the time, because there were some days, especially between the end of February and the first week of March, where he needed round the clock care and monitoring. He lost a lot of weight through the ordeal, and was extremely dehydrated. One of the strangest symptoms of this particular flu strain is the inability to lift your head or stay even awake, depending on how severe your case is.

I’m listing the symptoms below to warn people about it. This is nothing to play around with. If you get these symptoms, or your loved one does, go to a doctor immediately if you have the means. I really wish I had just knocked Adam out cold,and called 911 instead of respecting his wishes, because his body was already weak from having just years of living hard, and any time you have an illness for a long time, your organs are damaged. SO, be on the look out for:

MILD

  • nausea
  • dizziness
  • heavy head feeling
  • nasal congestion/runny nose
  • lack of appetite
  • lack of thirst (even when dehydrated)
  • no desire to move

SEVERE

  • vomiting
  • diarrhea
  • dark colored urine
  • inability to control body temperature
  • loss of weight/body fat
  • inability to get up
  • excessive sleepiness/drowsiness
  • sleeping all the time

I honestly believe the only thing that saved his life was prayers for his healing. Within a day or two of the prayer chain, he came out of this on his own. He started eating and keeping it down, and probably more important, drinking water by the gallon! Within a week he regained most of his strength. We were looking back on things earlier in the week, and talking about all that’s happened in the last 6 weeks. I kind of half-jokingly said, “You do know that you basically slept for like 1/3 of the winter, right?” He wrapped his arm around me and we walked, slowly because at the time he was still a little shaky and weak. He kept saying “Thank you” over and over. For every day when I would force him to drink water and take bites of food, even on the days and nights when he was throwing it back up and had no desire to eat or drink anything. For being patient with him as he slept when he wasn’t vomiting. For just being there when he would open his eyes. That was one thing he did when he came out of it, was just look at me for the longest time! I finally asked him after he wouldn’t stop looking at me for like ten whole minutes “What is up with you?” šŸ˜€ He said, “I haven’t seen you in a while.”

The picture I took tonight and shared with you is very special to me, because its proof that he is OK.

I actually took a nap today. I started my new job this morning, came home and rested. When I woke up, he was making dinner.

The man is making dinner šŸ™‚ The crisis is over and he is OK!!!

Leave a Reply

