Reflections of Vietnam

Image

Vietnam War Memorial, Washington,D.C.  Visual credits http://www.crazywebsite.com

When the rebellion attacked our battalion, the issue wasn’t communism. They were simply people, who wanted to be left alone.  Blood oozed from my friend, and he died as the rain fell. That’s what I remember.

**************

That’s in response to this weekend ‘s 36 word Trifecta challenge. When I was 21 years old, I was able to visit the wall. It had been a lifelong need, to go see it. I don’t know why. I was born in 1970, and my father never fought in that war, so why would it affect me so deeply?  But it has.  The day I went to the wall,  and I touched it, I felt such loss. There were voices crying out “wronged” and souls searching for peace. When I gathered my self and was able to walk away, which took a while… I saw a vendor selling T-shirts, and the painting on it depicted exactly how I felt, so I got one. It was a copy of this same painting shown above. That was in 1991, and I still have it.

19 thoughts on “Reflections of Vietnam

  1. solmagic says:

    Incredible picture. Very very nice.

  2. Suzanne says:

    Beautifully written – very haunting and real. It complements the picture perfectly. Well done!

    • Carolyn says:

      Thank you. I wrote the 36 word piece first, then thought “There’s only one picture to put with this”. Thinking of my old T-shirt, I googled and found out the painters name. It feels good to know the name of the painter after 22 years of “reflecting”!

  3. cookiecharm says:

    Very intense! Wonderful job!

  4. Carolyn says:

    Thank you ❤

  5. Draug419 says:

    This piece and your accompanying story are so powerful. Brilliant work.

  6. barbara says:

    Kenai had the traveling (mini) wall several years ago. I could not believe the emotions I felt as I walked its length and touched the names. Then, about 8 years ago I accompanied my oldest grandson’s 8th grade history group to DC and saw the wall in person. Emotions flooded over me. I graduated HS in 1968. At least one of my classmates was killed in that war. I feel your heartache. This is well done.

  7. Carolyn says:

    That’s incredible….knowing the traveling wall went all the way to Alaska. I’m so sorry you lost friends from school from this. 😦

  8. Lumdog says:

    Very real and powerful.

  9. nessa1313 says:

    You captured the sadness of war from all sides.

  10. Carolyn says:

    I’m so grateful for this weekend challenge, and the words we were given (rain, remember, rebellion). I wrote out a draft of what I wanted to express at first, then added the photo, and decided to write it as if this was a journal entry, of the man touching the wall in the painting.

  11. atrm61 says:

    This is exceptionally well written-simple yet pierces one’s heart!loved it:-)

  12. kymminbarcelona says:

    then he died as the rain fell. Tragic.
    Something about this reminded me of The Things They Carried, or maybe just Tim O’Brian in general.

  13. Silversound7 says:

    This brought tears to my eyes.

  14. Images of the Wall continue bring strong emotion as it did when I first saw it. Your writing is so well done. Such futility and loss.

    • Carolyn says:

      My heart goes out to everyone who has read my post. I hope that it has given healing in one way or another to everyone.

Leave a Reply

