Peripheral Vision

IMG_20130518_201119-1_zps77d799af

In my childhood memories, he was always there in the corner of my eye.  He would appear calm in the face of adversity or chaos, bringing sunlight to a soul walking alone, while we both waited for the moment when we would finally meet.  Did he know then, that my heartbeat followed his? My imaginary friend, my angel… the voice that kept me safe in the dark.

I wrote this for the 79th Trifecta writing challenge. Adam and me first met in 1986, when we were teenagers.  Since then, we’ve felt each others presence no matter where life has taken us, even during a 19 year stretch of time when we were out of contact, due to circumstances beyond our control.  Since then my heart beat strong when he was close by, and it has ached in a physically measurable way when we were apart. Recently his mother gave him a photo album made of his baby photos, childhood photos, every photo she had of him dating up to the present. It was a beautiful piece of artwork in itself.  Looking at his baby and childhood pictures made me realize that….I had known him all along. I knew him for years before we met. I recognized his spirit in his childhood pictures, as the imaginary friend I had, who would sometimes visit me in my childhood, especially (that I recall) between the ages of 4 and 7.  That explains why when we met that first day in 1986, both of us were overcome not with the newness of being introduced to a stranger, but with something that felt more akin to “It’s so good to finally find you. Thank God you’re really real!”

25 thoughts on “Peripheral Vision

  1. I do think we meet kindred souls along the way in life. There are a few friends I have that I was so comfortable knowing from the beginning. Take care.

  2. L.M. Murphy says:

    Very nice. I particularly like the last line.

  3. “sunlight to a soul walking alone’, that’s a lovely phrase. :))

  4. jannatwrites says:

    What a special relationship!

  5. I like the poetry in your voice. Spoken with a true feeling,

  6. MOV says:

    wow–love this!

    best,
    MOV

  7. Mike says:

    A lot of intensity and mystery. I enjoyed this a lot.

  8. steph says:

    Fascinating. How fortunate to have this experience. Very cool. Well told in few words.

  9. debseeman says:

    Oh this is is familiar to me. I’ve had these feelings most of my life and you have captured it with words.

    • Thank you for the writing challenges, Trifecta 😉 I know my work is not as intriguing as some popular others are,and my work lacks the style of the favorites, but I embrace the challenge with all I have. I’m open to criticism. I do want to be able to earn the silver tips on my wings.

  10. allyoop says:

    love and completely relate. 🙂

  11. Draug419 says:

    So sweet :3

  12. I love that feeling of meeting someone and just knowing there’s a connection. Great write.

  13. barbara says:

    a beautiful love story – both the challenge and the back story. 🙂

  14. KymmInBarcelona says:

    Impossible to explain, but the idea of hearbeats following each other is lovely.

  15. Suzanne says:

    This is so lovely Carolyn! The inner strength that connection gave you is beautiful.

Leave a Reply

