3 small steps

Three survival tools will help you in your battle against agoraphobia. The first is taking that first step. The second is taking that first step. And the third… is taking that first step.

 ******************

 

I wrote this in response to this weeks Trifecta challenge. We were supposed to use this quote by Henry James as a guide. 

Three things in human life are important. The first is to be kind. The second is to be kind. And the third is to be kind.
–Henry James

There were a few things that I wanted to write about, but this one seemed the most important.  Agoraphobia is a lonely existence.  Being the caretaker of an agoraphobic is hard, not because of the work of having to do everything outside the home, but because you watch your loved one suffer in the prison of their mind.  You think an agoraphobic doesn’t want to go outside? Doesn’t want to go to a doctor for help? Doesn’t want to open the blinds? Doesn’t want to go back to their job? Doesn’t want to share a trip downtown with their family to run some mindless errand?

It’s all they think about, when they watch you go out the door….

13 thoughts on “3 small steps

  1. When I read this, I thought there must be some kind of personal connection as your words, though following a stringent framework, speak volumes. You’ve succinctly highlighted the pain and the yearning.

    • Carolyn J. Brown says:

      My husband has lived and suffered with this since his first stroke. Just as he is cut in half, with half of his body no longer working, I feel cut in half. Half of my heart and soul is at home….I take him with me in the other half, where ever I go.

      • kdillmanjones says:

        Wow, I liked this post a lot, but I was almost in tears when I read this response of yours in the comments. That was poetic and heartbreaking, and so wonderfully said. I think THAT was the winner this week.

  2. Cobbie's world says:

    Well, you are certainly going to win the prize for making everyone cry. Wow! What a heartbreaking tale! Your husband is lucky, in one sense, because he has your love. I am sorry that the simple act of turning a door knob is such a punch in the gut. Thoughts and best wishes to you, both. You wrote beautifully, by the way. ❤

  3. Tracie says:

    That first step is so very hard. I love that you were able to take a prompt like this and inject your personal life and feelings into it.

  4. Suzanne says:

    Oh wow, this is beautiful, especially in context. I’m so sorry for both of you. What a terrible struggle that must be.

  5. barbara says:

    phobias are terrible – to experience and to watch. 😦

    thanks for writing this.

    • Carolyn J. Brown says:

      Just as I hope my husband will defeat this one day, I also hope this will help someone else. This writing challenge has inspired me to write an entire blog, directed at the medical community in hopes of some positive changes in treatment and outreach.

  6. Lumdog says:

    This is beautifully written and well said. You communicated so much in those few words.

  7. Draug419 says:

    This is so moving. Nice work.

  8. jannatwrites says:

    Phobias are hard because unless you suffer from it, it can be hard to understand it. I love what you did with this prompt.

Leave a comment